A Trip To Hobbiton

I’m going to write a series of phrases, each more unbelievable than the last, but trust me, every single one is true.

Today,  I went to a mall.

(And if that’s not unbelievable enough, there’s more!)

In the courtyard was a life size replica of Hobbiton.

A glimpse into movie magic?

A glimpse into movie magic?

Bilbo? Frodo? Are we late to the birthday party?

Bilbo? Frodo? Are we late to the birthday party?

With a little bit of the Holy Land

Or maybe it's Tatooine?

Or maybe it’s Tatooine?

And a dash of Easter Island

I don't remember these from Lord of the Rings

I don’t remember these from Lord of the Rings

All made of paper mache on top of bamboo scaffolding.

It ranged all over, a multi-level playground to explore, with tunnels, twists, turns, slides, bridges and obstacles.

What's the name of that place the Elves are from?

What’s the name of that place the Elves are from?

The orcs will never find us up here!

The orcs will never find us up here!

I'm sure Gollum is back here somewhere

I’m sure Gollum is back here somewhere

In the center was a water-spewing dragon.

Smaug? Is that you?

Smaug? Is that you?

I’m sure if this was in the US it would require me to sign a notarized waiver in triplicate.

Maybe we’ll build one in the back yard when we get home.

2 thoughts on “A Trip To Hobbiton

Leave a Reply

